Masseria is a word of Celtic origin deriving from Mas (country) and Er (house) which indicates a rural establishment dedicated to sheep herding and agriculture. They were large country houses, often built with white lime, and were the center of rural communities where life was marked by the rhythms of the land. A fertile land that gave life to large expanses of olive groves, to delicate blooms of almond trees and endless orchards and gardens of those colourful fruits and vegetables that make the Salento countryside unique.
In 1600 the masseria, while owned by the monastery of the Benedictine nuns of Ugento and under the abbess of Donna Maria Crocefissa Gaballo, a local gentlewoman, became a home for local farmers.
In 1762, under the abbess of Donna Maria Filippa Dias del Gado, the work of shrub and stone removal for land remediation of the area began.
Subsequently, with the dissolution of the monastery, the assets were acquired by Donna Caterina Sensio and then passed on to the Colosso family through inheritance.